Record number of Canadians named Cannes jurors

Ten Canadians, including Grey's Patrick Scissons and Wax's Monique Gamache, will sit on juries this year.

The Globe and Mail has announced the full list of Canadian jurors for this year’s Cannes Lions Festival, and it’s a big group.

Eight more jurors have been named to join DS+P partner and ECD Denise Rossetto, who is sitting on the health jury, and Leo Burnett CEO and CCO Judy John, who was named president of the direct jury. Including John, this brings the number of Canadians sitting on a Cannes jury this year to 10, topping last year’s record of nine.

Rossetto, who previously sat on the radio jury in 2012, and John, who was on the film jury in 2013, are the only repeat Canadian judges. Design juror Monique Gamache, design director and partner at Wax, previously served as a Young Lions judge in 2009, and media juror Penny Stevens, president of Media Experts, was a Young Lions judge in 2010.

With John on the list, this marks the fourth consecutive year Leo Burnett’s Canadian office has been represented on a Cannes jury, while Darren Clarke, ECD at Taxi, being on the film jury marks back-to-back years for his agency. The complete list of Canadian jury members include:

Cyber: Patrick Scissons, CCO, Grey

Media: Penny Stevens, president, Media Experts

Film: Darren Clarke, ECD, Taxi

Promo and Activation: Rene Rouleau, CD, Proximity

Design: Monique Gamache, design director and partner, Wax

Radio: Jessica Schnurr, copywriter, John St.

Branded Content: Michael Joffe, brand activation lead, Google Canada

Mobile: Steve Savic, ECD, Critical Mass

Health: Denise Rossetto, partner and ECD, DS+P

Direct (jury president): Judy John, CEO and CCO, Leo Burnett