Marketers of the Year 2009

We have a winner! Well, two actually. 

We have a winner! Well, two actually. This year the competition was won by Loblaw’s rockstar Craig Hutchison and the Don Johnson of Frito Lay Canada, Tony Matta. They tied for the top spot after strategy invited nominations and over 200 marketers voted to determine the winners.

Not only are they great at their jobs, they’re good sports too. They were joined by two of our finalists – a power-suited Muriel Solomon of Canwest and Nissan’s Run-DMC-inspired Jeff Parent – in a retro photo shoot by Cundari for our cover competition. Finalist Canadian Tourism Commission’s Greg Klassen, is based in B.C. and wasn’t able to participate. We’re sure he’s very upset about that.

Read on to find out what makes these marketers so radical, and check out our annual survey to see how the industry fared in this often-bogus year.

Overall winner – Loblaw’s Craig Hutchison: Back to the future

Overall winner – Frito Lay Canada’s Tony Matta: Raising the stakes

Finalist – Nissan Canada’s Jeff Parent: No guts, no glory

Finalist – Canadian Tourism Commission’s Greg Klassen: Canada’s tourism superhero

Finalist – Canwest’s Muriel Solomon: On with the show